The diet is low lactose, low fat, gluten free and usually well tolerated. A summary of the dietary outlines is outlined below.
The primary guidelines are:
Eliminate dairy products such as milk, cheese and ice cream. (Note: Varying amounts of natural, unsweetened, live culture yogurt may be tolerated by some individuals).
Avoid meats such as beef, pork and veal. Chicken, turkey, lamb and coldwater fish such as salmon, mackerel and halibut are acceptable if you are not allergic or intolerant of these foods. Select from free range whenever possible.
Avoid any food that contains wheat, spelt, kamut, oats, rye, barley, amaranth, or malts. This is the most difficult part of the diet, but also the most important. Unfortunately, gluten is contained in many common foods such as bread, crackers, pasta, cereals, and products containing flour made from these grains. Products made from rice, buckweat, quinoa and gluten free flour, potato, tapioca, and arrowroot may be used as desired by most individuals.
Drink at least two quarts of water daily, preferably filtered.
Avoid all alcohol containing products including beer, wine, liquour and over the counter products that contain alcohol. Also avoid all caffeine containing beverages including coffee, caffeine containing tea and soda pop. Coffee substitutes from gluten containing grains should be avoided along with decaffeinated coffee. Read labels carefully, as over the counter medications may contain alcohol and/or carreine.
Chew food well.
At least 50 times each mouthful. Make soup out of it in your mouth.